How MJ changed me ???

Michael Jackson or MJ as he is called is one of the best artists the music industry has ever produced. Stop there, I’m not going to write about how great he is or how he has inspired people around the world. Also hundreds of articles have also been published about him so me writing one more will just be a rhetoric. Instead I’m going to tell how he has inspired me personally and it is in a very unique way. But the unfortunate thing is that all this happened after his death.

Coming from a typical Mallu family I grew up watching Malayalam films and hearing Malayalam songs and all. Then when I learned Hindi it became my preferred language of entertainment. But some how I always felt disconnected from english even though I learned that language from kg classes. A few of my friends used to watch English movies and stuff but it was just a minority.

I’m not implying that I did not understand english, its just that I was not interested in hollywood and other english related entertainment industry. I used to think that these things are for the west and as a true Indian I was more interested in Bollywood and stuff. I never bothered to watch an english movie or an english song.

Then something changed. The day MJ died the news channels were running some of his music as a tribute. I have to admit that until then I haven’t heard a single song of MJ. But that day when I heard it for the first time I was blown away. I began to wonder how the hell did I missed it all these years. His songs had some sort of charisma that wants you to hear it again and again. That day I downloaded all the MJ songs and then it was just MJ and MJ day and night. I was just cursing myself for staying away from such wonderful music till then.

I listened to MJ music so much that I got saturated and then I moved on to others like Enrique and Savage Gardens. It just opened up the flood gates for me and from then onwards it was just BSB, Britney Spears, Madonna, Metallica and the list continues. But it didn’t stop with just music. It was after this that I began to watch english movies and series. Star World and Star Movies are now my favorite channels taking away the place of Star Plus. My ipod has now around 500 odd songs and mind you all of them are english.

So MJ from his music opened hollywood entertainment for me that I was missing till then. Watching all this has changed the way I use English language too, especially the way I speak. Thanks to him that I am more comfortable with this language I ever was. MJ has inspired a lot of people around the world through his music but the unfortunate thing is that he could change me and my way of life only after his death.

One thought on “How MJ changed me ???”

Leave a Reply

